A Long Two Weeks

As summer ends and the leaves begin to fall, the children go back to school. School in my area started on the 25th of August, which, to my surprise, was only two weeks ago! Every year before this one, I never really applied my self to school. I always was able to get by without doing a lot of work, but I wasn’t able to excel. I never was involved in any after school activities, unless watching Netflix counts. Looking at the beautiful campuses of schools like Yale and Stanford online made me realize that if I wanted to be able to go to a really nice school, I needed to work harder.

This year, I am currently taking two Advanced Placement classes, and it is all completely new to me. Within the first week of school starting, I was already conditioned to coming home, getting a shower, working from 4 pm to 10 pm, and still not having all of my work done. School this year has been a lot of hard work, but what I find odd is that I really enjoy it. Doing homework for hours is torture, but get genuine happiness from it. For the first time in my life, I feel like I am really accomplishing something. By the end of this year, I want to feel proud of all my hard work and I want to apply to amazing colleges and I want to be able to start my senior year strong.

Also, this year, I am involving myself in multiple clubs and projects. I’ve joined the Future Educators of America club, our school’s video club, and the Keystone club. The club I am most excited for is the Keystone club. In this club, we volunteer and host at different events, and at the end of the year, the members with the most volunteer hours get to go to the conference in Orlando, Florida. One ironic thing about living here, in Germany, is that kids go to exotic countries all of the time and it’s no big deal, but going on a trip to the States is the vacation people here get jealous of. 

We did our first event of the year at a large park/soccer field/stadium this past weekend. The event was A Day For Kids, where we had games, bouncy houses, and food set up and it was all free. It was a hard-working day, but it was very rewarding. In the morning, I was handing out water to the volunteers, at noon, I was working at the food line, around 1 pm, I was handing out food to the soccer players and the people watching the games. At the end of the day, I was doing face-painting. It was amazing to do something to make others happy! At the end of the day, I was exhausted, and I mean I took three naps and still went to bed around 10 pm, but I was proud of myself.

It feels so nice to take charge of my life. I might not get in to an Ivy League school or go on a fabulous trip to the States and shop at an outlet mall, but I still will be rewarded. Having self-worth is so important, especially to young people. We need to feel like we have purpose and that we are needed 🙂

Leave a Reply

